Rufin Hameen (left) GM of Bally’s Entertainment handing over the sponsorship cheque to Nimal Piyaratne (centre) President of Golf Union. Tellus Loy (right) of Bally’s Entertainment is also in the picture

Sri Lanka’s top professional golfer Mithun Perera will miss playing in the Sri Lanka Open Golf Championship 2015 due to engagements in the Asian tour. However, defending champion K. Prabagaran from Nuwara Eliya Golf Club will be vying to win this title for the third successive year when the Championship is held from February 2 to 5 at the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) course in Colombo.

Six top professional Indian golfers will join top pro Sri Lankan golfers like Anura Rohana, N. Thangarajah, Lalith Kumara, Vijitha Bandara, Amarapadma, K.A. Chandradasa, Arumugam, Harrison, Ranga and many other Sri Lankan golfers who are on the brink of turning pro. Golfers from all parts of Sri Lanka are expected to join in the fray. A maximum of 120 participants are expected to contest the tournament. If there are more entries a pre-qualifying round will be played on February 1.

This year the cash prize will also be enhanced with the entry of Bally’s Entertainment as the title sponsor. Their sponsorship package is worth Rs. 2 million. With other supporters also financially chipping in, prize money worth Rs. 2.5 million is available to be distributed among winners. The winner is almost certain to take away Rs. 4.5 lakhs while the remaining cash will go to the golfers who finish among the top five.

The Sri Lanka Golf Union (SLGU) will first conduct an inter-club golf championship on January 31. This championship will be conducted on a Stableford format where the golfer with the best eleven aggregate score will walk away with the big prize. However these scores will also be added to their individual scores when participating at the Levers Challenge Shield, Levers Cup, Dudley Senanayake Trophy and the RCGC Centenary Trophy. Co-sponsors UTE will present the UTE CAT Trophy and the Pam Fernando Trophy to the men and women members representing their respective golf clubs. These tournaments will be played concurrently with the Open event on February 2 and 3.