Kingswood College cricket squad

Kingswood College Kandy, which is one of the oldest cricket playing schools in the country, fields a well balanced side this time. Kingswood not only possesses a formidable batting line up, it also boasts of a penetrative bowling attack.

Kingswood is a school that has produced several good cricketers. In 1958 Maurice Fernando brought honour for the school when he was unanimously chosen as the schoolboy cricketer of the year by a panel comprising eminent cricketing personalities. On his way to the award he beat Lateef Idroos, Michael Tissera (S. Thomas’ College), Sarath Silva (Nalanda College), S.W. Seneviratne (St. Anthony’s College) and Russell Duckworth (St. Peters College).

RuwanthaSome of the cricketers who did well at school level and club level are Maurice Fernando, Herbert Jayasuriya, C. Ratnabushana, Ajith Ganoruwa, Owen Motau, S.B. Elikawella, D. Perera, A.H.M. Gazally, A. Dodnawella, H. Perusinghe, S.G. Jayasundara, L.H de Silva, S. Cotling, D. Mahindadasa, D. Aluwihare , Lionel Sirisena, Lakshman Galwaduge, Tissa Wijaratne, Gerome Grey, Mangala Darmaprema, Lalith Wijaratne, Hilmy Gafoor. M. Sherifdeen, Gyan Fernando, Tuan Azari Miskin, H.N.T. Gamage, Sharshana Kalansuriya, Gamini Ratnayake, Faizal Khan, Dayal Darmaprema and Rahal Ranasinghe.

Cricket at one time took pride of place at Kingswood College and many cricketers enjoyed run-feasts on the pintsized ground at Randle Hills in the early days.

Kingswood is fortunate to have last year’s assistant coach Indika Fernando as their head coach this season. He played for the senior team as a top order batsman. After leaving school he played Sara Trophy cricket. He was selected for the national spinners’ squad. He has completed the level I and II coaching courses. Sarath Ekanayake is the Master-in-Charge.

This year they are led by fifth year coloursman Ruwantha Hathurusinghe, who bats left handed in the middle order. He is also the stumper of the side. He is an astute captain.
Avishka Chandrasiri, the Vice captain is a fifth year player. He is a fine bowler and a right hand middle order batsman. This year he scored 50 runs against Sri Sumangala and 66 not out against St. Sylvester’s. Last year he scored over 500 runs and took over 50 wickets.

Tharindu Liyanage, who led the school last season, is also a fifth year player and bats at no 3. He is a left-handed batsman and a right arm off spinner.

Meedum Weerasinghe, a third year player bats left-handed. He is one of the opening batsmen.

Upamal Heenkenda, a third year player is a hard-hitting right hand opening batsman. He topped 650 runs last season.

Dilshan Walisundara, a third year player bats right handed and bowls off spin.
Vimukthi Wijesiriwardena is a right hand bard hitting batsman and bowls leg spin.

Some of the other members to watch in the side are Yasod Kavinda, Gavindu Kamburugamuwa (A good fielder in any given position), Salinda Dharmasena, Shanuka Rathnayake, Sharada Ranasinghe, Mahanama Jayampathi, Hasitha Nawaratne and Ranga Ratnayake.