It looks like 2016 will be an action packed year for the cricketers of Trinity College who will start the new year with a game against Dharmapala College Pannipitya at Asgiriya. Trinity has thus far in the cricket season won five games in a row.

Their main encounter will be against archrivals St. Anthony’s College Katugastota which is scheduled for March 11 and 12. Out of the 97 big match encounters Trinitians have won 23 with 11 won by Antonians. The last time St. Anthony’s won was in 1992. Trinity won last under Niroshan Dickwella in 2012. The 2015 encounter ended in a draw with only one session of play possible due to wet weather. The match received a place in the record books as the shortest big match.

Trinity College cricket fixtures for 2016 – January 4-5  Darrmapala College at Asgiriya, Jan. 11-12 vs St. Benedicts College (tournament) at Kotehena, Jan. 15-16 vs St. Josephs College at Asgiriya, Jan. 22-23 vs Dharmaraja College (tournament) at Lake View, Jan. 29-30 vs Ananda College (tournament) in Colombo, February 8-9 vs Isipathana College in Colombo, Feb. 19-20 vs S. Thomas’ College at Asgiriya, Feb. 26-27 vs Royal College at Asgiriya, March 11-12 vs St. Anthony’s College (Big Match 97th encounter) at Asgiriya and the 19th One dayer at Katugastota.