By Indika Amarasinghe

The confrontation between Kandy Sports Club and Police Sports Club in the Dialog ‘A’ Division Inter-club League Rugby first round match at Police Park today should turn out to be a thriller. The match will kick off at 4:00pm.

The policemen, who suffered an unexpected defeat at the hands of Havelock’s in their first outing, retuned to their normal pattern of play against CH and FC where they registered a thumping 62-0 victory last week. Police have been training hard during the last few days and are determined to pull off a morale-boosting win. The Kandy SC side, which registered run-away victories against CH and FC (80-30 and Air Force by (63-12) last week, will have to be at their very best if they have to topple the high-riding Policemen in their own den. Going by the two teams’ performances so far, a close tussle for supremacy can be expected today.

The forte of the Police team has been their power-packed forwards. The police ‘eight’ especially Bilal Hassen, Sharo Fernando, Terence Henry, Achala Perera and Radeesha Ranjan have given a terrific display in the loose, but today they will be given a torrid time by the Kandy forwards spearheaded by burly Heshan Kalhara ably supported by Soyuru Anthony, Kishore Jehan, DamithDissanayaka, Piyumal Manchanayaka and Gayan Rathnayaka.

In the set scrums the experienced Police hooker Achala Perera should get the better of his vis-a-vis Damith Dissanayaka while the line outs should be shared between the Police duo of Archirige and Sharo and Kandy’s Soyuru Anthony and Gayan Rathnayaka.

With the new halves combination of Sudam Sooriarachchi and Reeza Mubarak having clicked in the last match the policemen will hope that Sooriarachchi will set his three quarters in motion at every turn as they have two hard running centres in Mohamad Abzal and Musheen Faleel in addition to experienced wingers Chamara Dabare and Chula Susantha who have stood out with their powerful runs down the flank. The cops also have full back in Mohamad Sheriff who is skilled in joining the line and forming the overlap.

Police: Terence Henry, Achala Perera, Udara Gayan, Romesh Achirige (Captain), Charles Praveen, Sharo Fernando, Radeesha Ranjan, Bilal Hassen, Sudam Sooriarachchi and Reeza Mubarak, Chamara Dabare, Mohamad Abzal, Musheen Falleel, Chula Susantha, Mohamad Sheriff

Kandy SC : Piyumal Manchanayaka, Damith Disanayaka, Kishore Jehan, Shehan Dimitri, Gayan Rathnayaka, Heshan Kalhara, Asitha Rathnayaka, Buwaneka Udangamuwa, Roshan Weerarathna or Srinath Sooriyabandara and Fazil Marija (Captain), Richard Darmapala, Gayan Weerarathna, Lavanga Perera, Vishvamithra Jayasinghe, Nigel Ratwatte.