The Officer-in-Charge (OIC) of the Narahenpita Police was among six OICs transferred by Police Headquarters today with immediate effect. The transfer came after officials from the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption informed the Colombo Additional Magistrate that it was probing the OIC over bribery allegations.

Police Headquarters  stated the transfers had been ordered by IGP N.K. Illangakoon due to service requirements.

Notably, the Narahenpita OIC had been transferred to the Ampara Police Station for normal duties, and not as its OIC.

Officials from the Bribery Commission had earlier arrested the Crimes OIC of Narahenpita Police for allegedly soliciting a bribe of Rs.2.5 million. However, when the suspect was produced before the Colombo Additional Magistrate on November 30, Bribery Commission officials had informed court that according to the complainant, the bribery demand had been made by the Narahenpita OIC. The initial demand had been for Rs.8 million, though it had been negotiated down to Rs.2.5 million in the end.

The Additional Magistrate had ordered Bribery Commission officials to inform court whether they intended to arrest the Narahenepita OIC.

Accordingly, OIC of the Narahenpita Police, Chief Inspector M.G.U.D. Gunathilaka has been transferred to the Ampara Police Station. OIC of the Balangoda Police Chief Inspector H.P.G. Prasanna has been transferred as OIC of Narahenpita Police. Other transferred OICs are OIC of Thirukkovil Police Chief Inspector T.M. Udayana Bandara as OIC Balangoda, OIC of Seethawakapura Police AS.K. Bandara as OIC Thirukkovil, OIC of Gonaganara Police Sub Inspector P.M.N. Samansiri to Hatton Division and Inspector S.M. Ananda Bandara from Colombo South Division as OIC Gonaganara.