Gayan Weerarathna

Indika Amarasinghe reporting from Nittewela

Kandy Sports Club went on the rampage when they ran riot against the hapless CH and FC outfit by scoring a massive 80 (14 Tries, 5 Conversions) To 3 ( 1 Penalty) victory in their opening Dialog ‘A’ Division Inter-Club League Rugby Tournament match played on November 22 at Nittewela Stadium in Kandy.

The winners found their act together from the word go by scoring 14 sensational tries for which the sorry CH side had no answers.

The winners led 46-3 at lemons.

For Kandy SC tries were scored by Gayan Weerarathna (3), Heshan Kalhara (2), Dansha Dayan, Roshan Weerarathna, Fazil Marija, Damith Dissanayaka, Lavanga Perera, Nigel Ratwatte, Thilina Wijesinghe, Wishvamithra Jayasinghe and Kishore Jehan (all one try apiece) while the conversions were made among Roshan Weerarathna, Thilina Wijesinghe, Nigel Ratwatte and Arshad Jamaldeen.

Speaking exclusively to The Nation Kandy SC Team Manager Kapila Silva said, “Even though this is our first 15-a-side match for the season, the boys played a brilliant game by getting the momentum going from the very first minute. We are really happy and proud for the entire Kandy SC team, as they gave their very best in this match” said a happy De Silva.

Referee- Roshan Fernando