Indika Amarasinghe reporting from Nittewela

Defending League champs Kandy Sports Club will come out for the first time this season when they confront CH and FC in Dialog ‘A’ Division League Rugby Tournament match at their home grounds in Nittewela. The kick off will be at 4:00pm.

Kandy SC is undoubtedly favorites today, but their coach Sean Wijesinghe has warned that he will not take CH lightly. “We are a very young, but talented team that includes some great and experienced players. I’m sure will have a good game today and come on top,” said Wijesinghe.

This season Kandy SC side will be led by that marvelous fly half cum national XV skipper Fazil Marija.

National players Srinath Sooriyabandara, Vishvamithra Jayasinghe and Soyuru Anthony will make their debut for Kandy today.

The CH&FC side is an unknown quantity,  but the team has been received a shot in the arm by the arrival of former Royal College skilled flanker Andrew Siriwardana, who is one of the fiercest tacklers and one of the best open side flankers that the school system produced. They are further strengthened by the return of their vastly experienced player in Sajith Bandara for today’s game.

Speaking to CH Head Coach Hafeel Wazil said, “We got a very young and inexperienced side that comprises mainly school leavers who have been playing together at the club as a unit for a very short period of one month. However we will give our 100 percent in today’s game against the formidable Kandy side, who are the reigning league champs” said Hafeel.

CH&FC will have the services of Gazzaly Ifthikar who is the son of renowned rugby coach M.D.Ifthikar.

All in all it will be a very good match, but Kandy SC are expected to record a runaway victory.

Kandy SC-Piyumal Manchanayaka, Damith Disanayaka, Kishore Jehan, Shehan Dimitri, Gayan Rathnayaka, Heshan Kalhara, Asitha Rathnayaka, Buwaneka Udangamuwa, Roshan Weerarathna or Srinath Sooriyabandara and Fazil Marija (Captain), Dansha Dayan, Gayan Weerarathna, Lavanga Perera, Vishvamithra Jayasinghe, Nigel Ratwatte.

CH and FC- S.Nelson, M.Nizmin, U.Perera, T.Hasaranga, Rahiru Prabod, M.Farhan, Andrew Siriwardana, Rifkhan Sideek (Captain), S.Migara, Gazzaly Ifthikar and Sajith Bandara, V.Hewage, Udara Madhusanka, Migara Madugalla, Ganidu Hewage, Prasad Perera