Army Sports Club plans to finish among top four this season (File photo)

Meet the rugby clubs

By Indika Amarasinghe

Army Sports Club this year will be captained by tough as nails hooker Asoka Jayalal for the 2015/16 Inter-club league rugby season.

The former Vidyartha College Kandy centre Imanka Ariyapala will be his deputy and will continue to play as centre for Army this season as well.

Speaking to The Nation former army captain and present Assistant Coach cum Team manager Nisal Meepage said, “We have a very good combination of young and experienced players and I personally think they will perform very well in this upcoming rugby season. We are actually in the team building stage. Our aim this season is to at least to place fourth in the league and reach the semi final stage in the Clifford Cup knock out tournament. Look forward to us playing this season and we will give our very best” said Meepage.

The new players who have joined Army SC are ex-Peterite winger Kamesh Fernando,  Dinusha Nilanga Ariyapala- Younger brother of vice captain Imanka Ariyapala, fly half Ashan Bandara- Vidyaratha College Kandy and full back Bavantha Perera- St.Sylvester’s College Kandy.

This year the Army Team is coached by famous Papua New Guinea (PNG) national coach Fereti Verebula. Army SC will be mentored by Verebula who carries with him a vast experience in the coaching field. He was a part of the 7`s team last year. He also has had a coaching stint in the New-Zealand premiership.

His fellow country-men Imanueli Veikoso, known as Rathu among players and officials of Army rugby, will be the fitness trainer.

Army will come out for the first time this season against CR and FC on November 21 (Saturday)at Longden place with the kick off scheduled at 4.00pm.

Army SC rugby squad :Rasika Abeynayake, Lahiru Pavithra, Dinesh Suranga, NissankaPerera, Yohan Dilshan, Niroshan, Asoka Jayalal, Aravinda Karunratne, Thirusha Adikaram, Nishantha Kobbekaduwa, Thushara Perera, MohamedAkram, Udara Widuranralage, Upul Abeyratne, Eranda Piyatilleke, Sampath Roshan, Sajith Melan, Danushka Malith, Migara Madugalle Melan, Danushka Malith, Asitha Yasasmin, Rizvi Mohamed, RehanWeerakoon, SahanUmagaliya, Imanka Ariyapla, Victor Pradeep, Isuru Shantha, Asela Wijesinghe, Madushanka Chandrasekara, Sameera Bulathsinghala, Gayan Salinda, Kamesh Fernando, Dinusha Nilanga Ariyapala, Ashan Bandara, Bavantha Perera