Niroshan Dickwella

Wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella scored a fighting century and Udara Jayasundara missed out on his century by one run but despite their fine contributions Sri Lanka A conceded a first innings lead of 112 to New Zealand A in the first 4-day unofficial test played at Christchurch.

Sri Lanka A scored 358 in reply to New Zealand A’s first innings of 470.

Dickwella struck 17 fours in his 144 ball knock for 128. Jayasundara hit nine fours in the 199 balls he faced.

By stumps on the third day New Zealand A had extended their overall lead to 270 with six second innings wickets in hand and a day remaining.

Promising leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay was Sri Lanka’s best bowler in the New Zealand A first innings taking five wickets for 107 in 34 overs.

Scores: New Zealand A 470 (Jeet Raval 152, Dean Brownlie 68, Henry Nicholls 144 n.o., Neil Wagner 25, Lahiru Gamage 2/82, Jeffrey Vandersay 5/107) and 158-4 at close (Henry Nicholls 57 n.o., Derek de Boorder 62 n.o., Vishwa Fernando 3/52)

Sri Lanka A 358 (Udara Jayasundara 99, Dhananjaya de Silva 35, Roshen Silva 47, Niroshan Dickwella 128, Adam Milne 3/52, Colin Munro 3/37, Ish Sodhi 2/73)