Quote of the week

“From a small seed a mighty trunk may grow.” -Aeschylus

Laugh Out Loud!

What is brown and has a head and a tail but no legs?
Find out the answer next week!

dead-endLast week’s answer:Dead-end streets

Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature :

Svetlana AlexievichNobel Prize Winners 2015 (4)

The Nobel Prize for Literature for 2015 has been awarded to Belarusian journalist and non-fiction writer Svetlana Alexievich, “for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time”. Alexievich has the honor of being the first writer from Belarus to receive the prestigious award. Her stories focus on the struggles of the Soviet and post-Soviet individual which are narrated through interviews with witnesses rather than through fiction. Her literary influences include Belarusian writers Ales Adamovich and Vasil Bykau.

Alexievich was born on the 31st of May, 1948 in Stanislav, Soviet Union.  During her teen years, she worked for different newspaper companies as a journalist. She had her secondary education at Belarusian State University, after which she continued her work as a journalist and started publishing books, which got her famous worldwide. Her first book was ‘War’s Unwomanly Face’.

Nobel Prize in LiteratureNobel Prize Winners 2015 (1)

The Nobel Prize in Literature is a literary prize awarded annually to an author from any country, who has produced, “in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”. The prize has been awarded by the Swedish Academy, one of the royal academies of Sweden since 190,  when it was first awarded and it’s usually awarded to an author’s work as a whole.

The award was established by world-renowned Swedish chemist, engineer, innovator and inventor Alfred Nobel, who had entrusted 94% of his assets  to create a prize to be awarded to those who have been of great value to mankind in the fields of physics, chemistry, peace, physiology or medicine and literature in his will. The Nobel Foundation was created by the executors of his will and as stated in his will, the Royal Swedish Academy was given the honor of awarding the prize in literature.

The process of awarding   the Nobel prize begins with the nomination procedure, where the Swedish Academy sends out thousands of requests to members of the Academy, members of other literature academies, former Nobel laureates and professors of literature and language for nominations of candidates. The proposals which are received by 1 February are examined by the Nobel Committee and the list is narrowed down to about twenty candidates, which is then narrowed down to five candidates by May. This is followed by four months of reviewing the works of the five candidates on the short-list and finally, a winner is named through voting by October.

The recipient of the prize receives a gold medal, a diploma and a sum of money, of around US$ 1,100,000 as of 2012, making it the richest literary prize in the world. The winner is invited to give a lecture during “Nobel Week” in Stockholm and to attend the prize-giving and banquet held on the 10th of December that year.

Cartoon Corner


Kids’ Corner

Book of the week

books (2)Running Wild – Michael Morpurgo

Story Time

books (3)

Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas

Story Time

books (1)Goosebumps: Danger Time – RL Stine

Creative Cornerbee

Calling out all the Bookworms across the country!
Welcome to Creative Corner where all creativity and fun exist. Each week we’re giving you the opportunity to write a short story or a poem related to the given topic and the best story or poem will be featured in our page next week (or the week after). So grab your pens, notebooks and thinking caps and let your imagination do the rest. And don’t forget to send it to The Nation when you’re done.

Happy writing Bookworms!

Topic: The Ghosts From The Block

Deadline: October 30

Compiled by

Kids’ Corner
Kalindi Wimaladharma
Royal Institute

Teens’ Corner
Hemangi Wimaladharma
Girls’ High School

Cartoon Corner
Kulindu Wimaladharma
Royal Institute