Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first on the opening day of the first Test against West Indies at the Galle International Stadium.

Milinda Siriwardana was awarded his Test cap for Sri Lanka.

West Indies included four fast bowlers in their 11 – skipper Jason Holder who was making his Test debut as captain, Jerome Taylor, Kemar Roach and Shannon Gabriel.


Sri Lanka: D Karunaratne, K Silva, L Thirimanne, D Chandimal, A Mathews, M Siriwardana, K Perera, D Prasad, R Herath, T Kaushal, N Pradeep.

West Indies: K Brathwaite, S Hope, D Bravo, M Samuels, J Blackwood, D Ramdin, J Holder, J Taylor, D Bishoo, S Gabriel, K Roach.

Umpires: M Erasmus (SA) and RK Illingworth (Eng), TV umpire: S Fry (Aust).

Match Referee: D Boon (Aust).