The Nobel Peace Prize 2015 has been awarded to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet “for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011”.

The Tunisian quartet was made up of four organizations; the Tunisian General Labour Union, the Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts, the Tunisian Human Rights League, and the Tunisian Order of Lawyers. The Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel committee Kaci Kullmann Five said that this coalition of civil society organizations were successful in creating an alternative peaceful political process when Tunisia was on the verge of civil war.

The list of top contenders for this year’s peace prize included Pope Francis, German Chancellor Angela Merkel and whistleblower Edward Snowden.

Meanwhile, Belarusian investigative journalist and prose writer Svetlana Alexievich has been awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded jointly to Japanese physicist Takaaki Kajita and Canadian astrophysicist Arthur B. McDonald “for the discovery of neutrino oscillations. Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for mechanistic studies of DNA repair”.

Three scientists have won the Nobel Prize in medicine. Irish-born American biologist Dr. William C. Campbell and Japanese biochemist Satoshi Omura have jointly been awarded for their discoveries in a therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites, while the other half of the Nobel Prize was awarded to Tu Youyou for her discoveries in a therapy against Malaria.