The Japanese team celebrate victory after winning the second leg of the Asian Rugby Sevens in Thailand.

Sri Lanka will host the Asian Rugby Football Union (ARFU) Dialog Sri Lanka Rugby Sevens tournament third and final leg at the Race Course International Stadium in Colombo on October 10 and 11.

Twelve Men’s teams and eight Women’s teams will battle it out for supremacy in this tournament. The Sri Lankan men’s team did not fare too well, nor did they play up to their full potential in the two previous legs finishing fourth on both occasions in China and Thailand in the Cup championship.

The Japanese men’s team dished out a fabulous brand of rugby to be victorious in both legs to stand out as the undisputed kings. So far they are unbeaten and in number one spot with 24 points, South Korea is in second place with 21 points; China in third place with 19 points and Sri Lanka are fourth with Hong Kong on 18 points each.

Meanwhile the Sri Lankan women’s team put up a pathetic performance where they failed to secure a single win in China in the first leg and thereby ended at the bottom of the points table.

After the conclusion of the first leg in China, Hong Kong women are placed number one with eight points; China is second with seven points, Japan and Kazakhstan are third and fourth with 6 points and 5 points respectively. Sri Lanka with just one point are placed last in eighth spot.

The Sri Lanka Men’s team is drawn into pool “B” while Japan in pool ”A” and Korea in pool “D” look set to finish on top in their respective groups. In Pool “C” Hong Kong and China will battle it out for the top spot. In the knockout stage the second placed team from pool “C” will take on the first placed team of pool “A” and the first placed team of pool “B” will battle with the second placed team of pool D in the Cup quarter-finals on the second day on October 11.

Incidentally former Wallabies wing three quarter Lote Tuqiri who represented Australia in 67 tests and scored 30 international tries, will represent the Japanese national sevens team and play either as a centre or wing three quarter.

The participating teams:

POOL A: Japan, UAE, Chinese Taipei
Pool B: Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Philippines.
Pool C: Hong Kong, China, Kazakhstan.
Pool D: South Korea, Singapore, Thailand.

POOL W: Hong Kong, Japan, Thailand, Uzbekistan.
POOL X: China, Kazakhstan, Singapore, Sri Lanka..