The 10-member Constitutional Council (CC) that convened in Parliament on Friday finalized names for four of the nine independent commissions that are to be set up under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution. Accordingly, the CC named members to the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption, Human Rights Commission, Public Service Commission and the National Police Commission.

Speaking to The Nation, Deputy Secretary General of Parliament Neil Iddawela said the names will be forwarded to President Maithripala Sirisena for final approval.

Iddawela said the CC will convene once more on November 4 to finalize members for the remaining five commissions. The commissions that members are still to be named are the Elections Commission, Audit Service Commission, Finance Commission, Delimitation Commission and the National Procurement Commission.

About 600 nominations are reported to have been received for the nine commissions.
The Constitutional Council comprises seven Parliamentarians and three members from the civil society. Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and Opposition Leader R. Sampanthan are ex-officio. The other MPs in the CC are Champika Ranawaka, Wijeyedasa Rajapakshe, John Seneviratne and Vijitha Herath. The three civil society members are Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne, Dr. Radhika Coomaraswamy and Justice Shibly Aziz. Under the 19th Amendment, the CC is entrusted with making appointments to the independent commissions.