Sri Lankan captain cum playmaker Fazil Marija and the players to watch Dhanushka Ranjan and Srinath Sooriyabandara

By Indika Amarasinghe

Sri Lankan rugby selectors headed by former player Michael Jayasekara have picked a squad of 12 players whom they feel would be able to win the final leg of the Asian Seven Rugby Series to be held at Colombo’s Racecourse international stadium on October 10 and 11.

Fazil Marija will lead the Sri Lanka men’s seven’s rugby team for the final time in this tournament before quitting the captaincy and continue his career as a player.

“We are trying all our ploy’s underneath our sleeves, in fact we are trying out Sandun Herath and Dulaj Perera to play as utility  players , playing as forwards as well as in the three quarter line according to the situation,” said Jayasekara.

“You need to give a helping hand to Gayan Weeraratne who is playing really well as a forward.

“My plan is to have young players blending with the experienced and playing as utility players who can play anywhere either as forwards or three quarters as the situation demands. That gives our side an added advantage over our opponents”.

“By drafting a lot of young players and having a rotation policy, will look good for the future of Sri Lankan rugby,” Jayasekera added.

“If you ask me what the end result I want, it’s definitely the Cup. I want Sri Lanka to beat the mighty Japan in the final and bag the Cup championship. With the talent and the experience we got in our 12-man squad it’s possible. Let’s keep our fingers crossed,” Jayasekara said.

The Sri Lankan squad

Kandy SC – Fazil Marija (Captain), Gayan Weeraratne,  Anurudda Wilwara, Richard Dharmapala, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Shehan Pathirana, Nigel Ratwatte

CR&FC – Kanchana Ramanayake

Havelock’s SC –   Sandun Herath, Dhanushka Ranjan, Dulaj Perera, Sudarshana Muthuthantri