Aussies Women the top ranked team in the ICC Women's team rankings

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today launched the official ICC Women’s Team Rankings, which incorporate results in all three formats of the game into one rankings system.

Not surprisingly, Australia is ranked number one following its success in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 in India and the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh. It also leads the ICC Women’s Championship, which is the qualifying tournament for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.

England is ranked second in the 10-team table, 10 points behind Australia, followed by New Zealand (109), India (105), West Indies (99), South Africa (92), Pakistan (81), Sri Lanka (74), Bangladesh (57) and Ireland (26). Teams will be added to the table as and when they reach the required standard.

The launch of ICC Women’s Team Rankings is part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to investing, incentivising, promoting and publicising women’s cricket, which has already started to drive substantial increase in public interest and participation as well as a marked improvement in the standard of the international game.

The innovative new system treats results from Test, ODI and T20I cricket equally. This means there will be rankings points to play for in every international match, while the volume of matches will ensure the table is a credible reflection of overall performance.
The ICC Women’s Team Rankings

Rank Team Matches Points Rating
1 Australia Women 41 5490 134
2 England Women 39 4851 124
3 New Zealand Women 37 4040 109
4 India Women 29 3034 105
5 West Indies Women 41 4056 99
6 South Africa Women 40 3668 92
7 Pakistan Women 36 2904 81
8 Sri Lanka Women 37 2735 74
9 Bangladesh Women 13 742 57
10 Ireland Women 15 392 26