Red Bull Brand Ambassador and Sri Lanka vice-captain Lahiru Thirimanne who was the chief guest at the finals with the winning team ICBT.

After months of exceptional cricket, ICBT emerged victorious as the Red Bull Campus Cricket (RBCC) 2015 Champions. The thrilling National Final was held between ICBT and Kotelawala Defence University at the Thurstan College grounds.

ICBT will now be placed onto a global stage where they will be representing Sri Lanka at the RBCC World Finals in India next month. After the unique “bowl-out” draw held in April, ICBT moved directly into the quarterfinals as they were given a bye due to being the defending champions of the tournament.

The four months of training prior to the quarterfinal then paid off after a victory over BMS which saw them through to the semi-finals with a small margin of victory. Finally, after a nail-biting finish against NSBM, ICBT advanced to the National Finals, hungry for one more victory that they have now rightly earned.

Now in its fourth successful year, RBCC an annual knockout tournament brings the best of campus cricket from 170 universities across Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the UAE, with each team representing the best university cricket teams who have been crowned the National Champions in their respective countries.