MCA Committee snatched an exciting five runs win over Lankan Cavaliers to annex the ‘Tyronne de Silva’ Challenge Trophy in their 12th annual cricket encounter played at the MCA grounds on 19th September.

Their main contributors were Sanjaya Wijesinghe who scored a brisk 56 retired in just 28 deliveries inclusive of 3 sixes and 5 fours. Punnya Kantha Abeygunasekera also shone with the ball capturing five wickets for 26 runs for MCA Committee.

Batting first MCA scored 183 runs for six wickets off 20 overs. Mahesh Wijewardene scored 47 runs with 4 sixes and 4 fours.
Lankan Cavaliers gave a spirited chase through Asanga Perera (42), Basil Jayawardena (25) and Sajeeva Silva (48 inclusive of 4 sixes and 4 fours) which took the game to the wire, needing 8 runs in the last over.

Punnya Kantha Abeygunasekera (26/5), who bowled the last over, kept his nerve and snapped up the wickets of Mahesh Wijenayake, Niranjan Dabare and Riyaz Farook giving away only two runs. Daya Sirisena got run out in the process and Lankan Cavaliers fell inches away from the post all out for 178 runs in 20 overs.

All three special awards went to MCA, Sanjaya Wijesinghe (Best Batsman), Punnya Kantha Abeygunasekera (Best Bowler) and Mahesh Wijewardene (Man of the Match).

Former President MCA Tyrone de Silva who initiated this match in 2004 and donated the trophy was the chief guest.

MCA Committee: 183 for 6 in 20 overs (P.K. Abeygunasekera 19, Sanjaya Wijesinghe 56 rtd, Mahesh Wijewardene 47, Riyaz Farook 2/24, Mahesh Wijenayake 2/30)

Lanka Cavaliers – 178 all out in 20 overs (Asanga Perera 42, Basil Jayawardena 25, Sajeewa Silva 48, Riyaz Farook 20, Mahesh de Alwis 2/20, P.K. Abeygunasekera 5/26) (LW)