Harsha Samaranayake (left) GM Brand & Media Dialog Axiata PLC shakes the hand of Sidath Wettimuny (centre) Chairman SLC, at the launch. Angelo Mathews, captain Sri Lanka, is on the right

Cricket fans will now be able to vote for their favourite cricketer to be presented the Dialog Cricketer of the Year award to be held on 19th October.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has nominated 24 players who represented Sri Lanka at international encounters eligible to be selected as the Dialog People’s Player for the year 2014/2015.

These players are; Ajantha Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhammika Prasad, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dilruwan Perera, Jeewan Mendis, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Kaushal Silva, T.M. Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Malinga, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Kulasekara, Upul Tharanga, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Shaminda Eranga, Suranga Lakmal and Thisara Perera. Cricket lovers can send as many sms’ from any mobile network.

The procedure to send the message is to type DPP<space>the name of your favourite cricketer and send to 2343. SMS’s can be sent from any mobile network.
Voting can also be done online like facebook or twitter. One can visit the website to obtain more information.

Voting closes on October 18 at 12 midnight. A nominal fee of Rs. 2.50 plus takes for every sms.

The Dialog awards ceremony will be held in a grand scale like last year. The people voted for Kumar Sangakkara last year who received nearly 20,000 votes. There will be ten awards to be presented to international cricketers.

However, about 60 awards will be presented in the domestic arena. These award winners will be selected based on their performances in the domestic cricket tournaments.
The awards ceremony is to be held for the seventh year and the sponsorship of Dialog is for the third year.

Harsha Samaranayake the General Manager Brands and media of Dialog said that they are proud to support the sport that is a passion of the nation.

“Dialog is proud and humbled to have the opportunity to power the passion of our nation, as proud sponsors of Our Lions, Our Pride – the Sri Lanka Cricket team – during the past three years and we are privileged to support the 2015 edition of the cricket awards,” observed Samaranayake.

“For the third consecutive year, Dialog Sri Lanka Cricket Awards is gearing up in grand fashion to honour the men and women who have risen above others to shine as stars of the game. Around 65 national cricketers will be feted for their feats during the domestic and international cricketing season 2014/2015. These individuals have indelibly etched their names in the record books, setting the stage for others to follow,” said Sidath Wettimuny, Chairman of Sri Lanka Cricket at the launch of the event.