CCC School of Cricket, Maitland Crescent, Colombo displayed their overall superiority when their under-13 team clinched the Anchor Trophy at the M.C.A. Inter-Academy cricket Tournament held for the 10th year, and concluded on 13th September at Wijerama Mawatha.

CCC under-13’ A’ team, ably led by Kavindu Pathiratne, were unbeaten group leaders in the preliminary round beating all five team easily and in the quarter-finals beat last years’ champions, SSC ‘A’ while they got the better of Kelaniya in the semi-final played at the MCA grounds. CCC then beat Ragama CA easily by 9 wickets in the final.

C.C.C. Cricketers also carried away most of the individual awards on offer. Vice captain and the wicket keeper cum opening batsman Pavan Ratnayake, who scored a majestic 157 against Moratuwa Cricket School with 21 fours and 4 sixes and aggregated 415 runs with an average of 83 in the tournament won the best Batsman’s Award. Ratnayake with an attractive 43 not out and two vital catches and a wicket also won the prestigious Man of the Final award.

Allrounder Prabhasara Herath, who scored a majestic 231 runs and claimed 11 wickets with five catches in the tournament, was the deserving winner of the Player of the Tournament award.

Best bowler’s award for the U-13 age group was also won by CCC ‘’B’’ team player 11 year old tiny left arm spinner, Venuk Hemachandra who accounted for 14 wickets at an average of 8.34 runs in the preliminary round matches.

The champion CCC school of cricket under-13 A team comprised Kavindu Pathirane (capt.) Pavan Ratnayake (V-capt), Prabhasara Herath, Amith Dabare, Vinuka Nanayakkara, Priyan Thiruchelavam, Sanik Weliwatta, Sunera Ratnayake, Nusrif Nisthara, Punthila Kumara, Danal Hemananda, Sanik Senanayake and Sanuda Fernado.

The team is coached by Udara Maddumage.

Scores of the final:
Ragama C.A: 71 in 28.3 overs. (S. Mithun 15, Prabhasara Herath 3 for 13, Sunera Ratnayake 2 for 8, Punthila Kumara 2 for 19)
CCC A: 74 for 1 in 13.3 over. (Pavan Ratnayake 43 n.o, Vinuka Nanayakkara 19)