Three MPs took oaths before Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today. Accordingly, Palitha Thewarapperuma, Lakshman Seneviratne and Bimal Rathnayake took oaths as MPs.

Palitha Thewarapperuma, contesting from the United National Party (UNP), was elected to Parliament from the Kalutara District at last month’s General Election. However, he was unable to take oaths as an MP at the inaugural session of Parliament on September 1 due to the funeral of his son.

Lakshman Seneviratne contested from the Badulla District from the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) but failed to secure a seat. However, he was subsequently appointed to fill the seat left vacant by Chamara Sampath Dassanayake, who recently took oaths as the new Chief Minister of the Uva Provincial Council.

Bimal Rathnayake meanwhile, contested the election from the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna and also failed to secure his seat. He was appointed by the JVP to fill the seat left vacant by the resignation of its National List MP Sarathchandra Mayadunne.