Parliament today approved the names of the three representatives from the civil society proposed to the Constitutional Council (CC).

The names of Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne, Dr. Radhika Coomaraswamy and Shibly Aziz were proposed for the council. The council will comprise seven members from Parliament and three independent members.

Appointed under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the Constitutional Council will now oversee the appointment of independent commissions.