Former West Indies captain and manager Richie Richardson now an ICC Match Referee

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that former West Indies captain Richie Richardson has been appointed to the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. He will replace Sri Lanka’s Roshan Mahanama, who stepped down last week.

Richardson will take over the match referee’s role after he has finished his current assignment as the West Indies cricket team manager, which will end with the Sydney Test against Australia starting on 3 January 2016

Following his appointment, Richardson said: “I am excited and honoured to have been selected for one of the most important jobs in cricket.

“Having been on either side of the fence, first as a player and then as an administrator, I think I have the experience and insight to help me contribute positively alongside some of the finest and most experienced match officials. Obviously, I look forward to working and learning from my colleagues as we all continue to strive for excellence. 

“Until the end of the Australia tour, I will remain fully committed and focused on my current assignment as the West Indies cricket team manager and I would like to thank the West Indies Cricket Board for its support over years as well as the encouragement it provided to me in taking up this new role.” 

Richardson, 53, represented the West Indies in 86 Tests and 224 One-Day Internationals from 1983 to 1996 in which he scored 5,949 and 6,248 runs, respectively. He captained his side in 24 Tests and 87 ODIs. He played in the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1987, 1992 and 1996. 

He has been the West Indies cricket team manager since January 2011.

Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees


Referee                       Age     Tests   ODIs   T20Is

David Boon                 54        26        76        28       

Chris Broad                 57        72        263      54

Jeff Crowe                  57        72        224      49

Ranjan Madugalle      56        159      298      74

Andy Pycroft              59        40        115      35

Richie Richardson      53        –           –           –

Javagal Srinath           46        33        166      49