Hassim Omar (Right) Director Pyramid Wilmar Fortune handing over the sponsorship to Fahir Zarook (President Past Prefect Association)

The much looked forward to soccer tournament among schools is the ‘Zahira Super 16 Soccer Sevens tournament’ which will be held on 17th October at their ground in Maradana.

The Past Prefects Association of Zahira College is organizing this event for the 11th consecutive year having held it in a grand manner in the previous years also. This is why it has become an exciting and exhilarating event in schools soccer.

This tournament will precede with a tournament for eight emerging schools where the winner of this tournament will be included in the Super 16 Sevens tournament. This emerging soccer sevens tournament will be held on September 19 from 1 p.m. onwards at Maradana.

The main tournament will see the 16 teams divided into four groups and at the end of the first round to be played on League basis the teams will be drawn into four categories in the second round. They will be formed into the Cup, Plate, Bowl and the Shield Championship.

The champion team in the Cup event will be rewarded with a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 and the total prize awards will total Rs. 500,000 among the participants. This is the only schools soccer tournament that offers such cash prizes and awards.

The main sponsor of this event will be Pyramid Willmar (Pvt) Limited who willingly came forward with the intention of uplifting the sports among the youth of this country.

The other sponsors are Cool Planet, Northshore College, Banu Manpower, Creative Apparel, The Traveller Global and Print House. will air the proceedings live.
Fifteen teams were selected from the list of teams given by the Sri Lanka Schools Football Association on merit. The sixteenth team will be the winning team from the emerging tournament.

A handsome trophy has been made newly for the next decade. This trophy is a very expensive one and two replicas have been made to be sent to foreign lands and displayed among the Old Zahirians living in those countries. This trophy will be sent to Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and the middle Eastern countries to obtain more support and make awareness about such a tournament.

A Celebrity Football Match involving ‘All Stars’ and ‘Cricket Stars’ will also be played on a latter date.

The sixteen teams and their groupings are:
Group A: Zahira College, Al Aqsa College Kinniya, Wesley College and Royal College.
Group B: St. Joseph’s College, St. Mary’s College Kegalle, Manippai Hindu College and St. Peter’s College.
Group C: De. Mazenod College, St. Benedict’s College, St. Thomas Matara and Winner of Emerging tourney.
Group D: Maris Stella College, Zahira College Gampola, Al Adhan College, Badulla and Hindu College Colombo.