File photo

By Indika Amarasinghe

Doha RFC clinched the West Asian Club Rugby championship beating Kandy SC 29-17 in the final played at Dubai.

Doha RFC opened scoring with a penalty and went into a 3-nil lead and increased it to 6-0 with another penalty.

Kandy scored a try which went unconverted to close the gap to just one point 6-5.

Doha went further ahead with another penalty put over to increase their lead to 9-5.

Kandy took the lead for the first time when Thilina Wijesinghe scored a try and converted it himself to make it 12-9.

But Doha regained the lead shortly before half time with an unconverted try 14-12.

After resumption Kandy scored their third try which was unconverted to regain the lead 17-14, but Doha snatched it back with a try that was converted to make it 21-17.

The home club further increased their tally with a penalty conversion making it 24-17 and sealed Kandy’s fate with an unconverted try for a final score of 29-17.

Kandy SC was led by Shane Wijesinghe due to the non availability of their regular captain Fazil Marija who is due to lead the national Sevens team to Thailand next week.