Isipathana team celebrating their victory on the podium

Isipathana College grabbed the under-18 rugby crown by defeating S. Thomas’ College Mt. Lavinia by 17 points (2 goals, 1 penalty) to 5 points (1 try) in the final. The entire tournament was worked off at the Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo and concluded last week.

At the breather S. Thomas’ led 5-3.

Dileeka Hettiarachchi and Devin Gunaratne scored one try apiece while Hettiarachchi put over a penalty and converted a try for the winners.

S. Thomas’ solitary try was scored by M.S.M. Chanuka which went unconverted. Wesley College won the Plate Championship crushing defending champions Science College Mt. Lavinia 17-nil.

Trinity College Kandy beat Kingswood College Kandy 17-5 to win the Shield event. Vidyartha College won the Bowl event by trouncing Thurstan College 22-nil.

Bandula Egodage-Assistant vice president Nestle Lanka PLC, SLSRFA President Ranjith Chandrasekara and Secretary Susantha Mendis gave away the trophies to the relevant winners.