Maj. Gen. Jagath Dias (right) explaining a point with Brigadier J.P. Ampemohotti and Brigadier Jayanath Jayaweera (left) look on | (Pic by Chandana Wijesinghe)

The final stage of the Para Games 2015 organized by Sri Lanka Army will be conducted on September 16th to 18th September at the Mahinda Rajapaksa stadium on a grand scale. All other events for disabled soldiers have been completed and the final stage is the Athletic meet with 13 events listed for the Games. This Para Games was initiated mainly with the sole intention of helping the soldiers who were disabled while fighting to save the country from terrorists.

With the introduction of these Games Army was able to find hidden sporting talents of these soldiers. Their participation at these meets and the improvement of these sports loving disabled soldiers also helped them to bring glory to their motherland through various sports participating at international Para Games.

Competing at the Paralympic Games in London last year Sinha Regiment’s Warrant Officer Pradeep Sanjaya won a bronze medal. Going further Sanjaya was able to win another bronze medal participating in World Para Games in France. Last year Commando Regiment’s Sergeant Jayalal won a Silver medal at the Asian Para Games in 2013.

Last year saw the participation of foreign competitors from India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Vietnam and Singapore. This year too the local athletes will have the opportunity of competing along with athletes from India, Pakistan, Indonesia, Malaysia and Nepal as these countries have confirmed their participation. Competing along with foreigners will help our athletes gain more experience which is important for them as they are hoping to make their entry to next year’s Paralympic Games to be held in Brazil soon after the Olympic Games. The organizers hope to select athletes from this meet to form a pool in preparation for the Paralympic Games next year.

The meet gets underway with Commander of the Army as guest of honour while the chief guest will be the Secretary to the Ministry of Defence.