MCA ‘Maroons’ the U-13 champion team pose with their trophies after the final

The 10th MCA Inter Academy U-13 & U-15 Tournaments 2015 sponsored for the 1st time by Fonterra Brands Lanka (Pvt) Ltd., and played for the brand new “Anchor” Trophy, came to a facile end at the MCA grounds on Sunday.

In the U-13 final in the morning, CCC “Maroons” walked through to a 9 wickets win over Ragama Cricket Academy and in the U-15 final MCA “White” easily beat Asoka de Silva Cricket Academy on a faster run –rate.

Electing to bat first Ragama got off to disastrous start losing 3 wickets for 21 and never recovered. They had no answer to the CCC medium pace battery of Prabashwara Herath (3/15) Punthila Kumara (2/19) and Senera Ratnayake (2/8), folded up for a paltry 71 runs in 28.3 overs.

CCC “Maroons” cruised to 72/1 in 13.4 overs, with Pavan Ratnayake carrying his bat out scoring 43 not out in 49 balls, inclusive of a six and 05 fours.

In the U-15 final, MCA “White” lost Eshan Fernando off the first delivery and lost four more wickets cheaply. Four of them snapped up by opening bowler Praveen Silva (6-1-20-4).

They were rescued by Kavinda Prabath (54 in 68 balls, inclusive of a six and 5 fours) and Pasindu Adithya (41 in 29 balls, inclusive of 3 sixes and 3 fours) with a gusty 90 – runs partnership for the sixth wicket as they pulled through to finish with a respectable 148 for 9 in 30 overs.

Asoka de Silva top order batting fell like nine pins and were 6 for 16 and were grouping in the dark at 57 for 9 in 23 overs when the rains came down, giving the final an early finish.

Chairman of the SLC U-19 Selection Committee, Ranjith Madurasinghe was the Match Referee cum adjudicator of the player of final for both tournaments.

U-13 final:
Ragama: 71(28.3) (M. Senarath 17, Punthila Kumara 2/19, Prabashwara Herath 3/15, Senera Ratnayake 2/8)
CCC “A”: 72/1 (13.4) (Pavan Ratnayake 43 n.o. Vinuka Nanayakkara 19)

U-15 final: MCA “White” beat Asoka de Silva Cricket Academy on a faster run-rate.

MCA “White”: 148/9 (30.0) (Kavinda Prabath 54, Pasindu Adithya 41, Praveen Silva 4/20, H. Saveen 3/29)

Asoka de Silva – 58/9 in 23.0 overs (M. Theekshana 18, Vihanga Nanayakkara 2/6, Chamindu Piyumal 4/13, Dilshan Kavinda 2/17)
Special Awards / U-13

Best Bowler – Vinuk Hemachandra from CCC “B” (27.2 – 117 – 14)

Best Batsman – Pavan Ratnayake from CCC”A”
Player of the Tournament – Prabashwara Herath from CCC “A” (236 runs & 7 for 77)

Player of the Final – Pavan Ratnayake
Best Captain – Mahendra Jayatillake from MCA “Green”
Most Disciplined Team: Lankan Cricket Academy (380 points out of 400, 95%)

Special Awards / U-15
Best Bowler – Miranga Madushanka from Asian Cricket Academy
Best Batsman – Isuru Tharaka from Lankan Cricket Academy
Player of the Tournament: Kavisha Lakshan from Asian Cricket

Player of the Final – Chamidu Piyumal from MCA “White”
Best Captain – Thisaruka Akmeemana from Mighty Cricket Academy
Most Disciplined Team – MCA “White” (LW)