President Maithripala Sirisena, addressing newly appointed State and Deputy Ministers at the Presidential Secretariat today, insisted that the present government would function for the next five years. He stressed he would never allow anyone to break up the present government.

Speaking further, President Sirisena questioned why former Cabinet Ministers could not work as Deputy Ministers if former President Mahinda Rajapaksa can be in Parliament as an MP.

A total of 40 State and Deputy Ministers took oaths before the President at the Presidential Secretariat this afternoon. Accordingly, 19 State Ministers and 21 Deputy Ministers were sworn in.

Three more Cabinet Ministers also took oaths before the President this morning.