An awareness workshop for Members of Parliament elected to the eighth Parliament will be held on September 10 and 11 at Committee Room No 1 of the Parliament. The program which is organized by the Secretary General of Parliament will begin at 9.00am and will run till 5.00pm on both days.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya will chair the opening session where Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will be the Chief Guest, said by a statement issued by the Parliament.

The Opposition Leader, Deputy Speaker, Deputy Chairman of Committees, Leader of the House, Chief Government Whip and Chief Opposition Whip will be among the special invitees and a number of internationally identified personnel have been invited as resources persons of the workshop.

Accordingly, UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative Subinay Nandy, UNDP Parliamentary Advisor and former MP Charles Chauvel, West-minister Foundation for Democracy Regional Director Asia and MENA, Dr Dina Melhem and House of Commons, UK, MP Andrew Stevenson are among such personnel. The parliament officials request all Members of Parliament to participate at the workshop and adjust, learn about the Parliament culture.