The inaugural session of the 8th Parliament commenced this morning. United National Party (UNP) MP Karu Jayasuriya was elected uncontested as the Speaker and took his oath of office a short while ago.

Jayasuriya’s name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and it was seconded by Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) MP Nimal Siripala De Silva.

President Maithripala Sirisena is due to address Parliament later this evening, where he will present the Statement of Government Policy.