Old Peterites OBU dominated the Saints Quadrangular, as they carried away three out of four titles on offer at the 48th 50-Over Main Quad, the 15th O-40 / 25-Over quad and the 2nd Rugby “Sevens” quad, conducted during the weekend (22nd & 23rd August)

The Organizing Committee Chairman Kennedy Michael together with Secretary Srilal de Silva hurriedly shifted the two cricket finals to Darley Road, due to SBC grounds getting water logged and each being restricted to a 20+20.

In the morning the Old Peterites cruised to a 6 wickets win over the Old Joes in O-40 final and followed up with a crushing 66 runs win over the Old Bens in the main quad final.

In the 50-Over – 20+20, the Peterites recovered for 6 for 4 to 145 for 7 via a blitz by Angelo Emmanuel – 68 not out in 43 balls, inclusive of 4 sixes and 4 fours.

The Bens put up a weak kneed batting performance and were shot out by 79 runs in 15.3 overs, completely tamed by the bowlers Vinod Perera, Dillon Udagamsuriya, Angelo Emmanuel, Brigesh Jeganathan and skipper Hans Fernando, who shared two wickets each.

On Saturday, at St. Peter’s College grounds Bambalapitiya, the Old Peterites won the Rugby Football “Sevens” beating the old Joes. The Old Antonians finished third. Dhanushka Ranjan was adjudged as the Most outstanding player of the tournament.
The Old Bens won the 11th Basketball quad with a hard fought win in over time over the Old Josephians at Kotahena.

The scores stood at 56–all at full time and in the 5 minutes of over time, the Old Bens forged ahead to win 72/63. The Bens led in all 3 quarters – 18/11, 31/20 & 38/33.

Special Awards :
Best Defence – Gene de Zilva / Joes
Best Offence – Kanishka Perera / Bens
Most Valuable Player – Clifton Stallon / Bens

Cricket Results/finals:
Over -40: Old Peterites beat the Old Joes by 6 wickets.
Old Joes – 84 (19.3) (Harine Wijeratne 21, Renuka Nonis 2/12, Anjelo Rajaratnam 3/20, Indunil Anthony 2/2)
Old Peterites: 85/4 (11.4) (Anjelo Rajaratnam 26, Damian Tissarachchi 16)

Special Awards:
Best Fielder: Indunil Anthony / Petes
Best Bowler: Renuka Nonis /Petes
Best Batsman: Harine Wijeratne / Joes
Man of the Final: Anjelo Rajaratnam / Petes
Main Quad: Old Peterites beat the Old Bens by 66 runs.
Old Peterites: 145/7 (20.0) (Anjelo Emmanuel 68 n.o. Nilochana Perera 25, Brigesh Jeganathen 27, Chandana Jayasanka 3/25, Amila Perera 2/15)

Old Bens: 79 (15.3) (Rukshan Weerasinghe 15, Rally Tissera 22, Vinod Perera 2/27, Dellon Udugamsuriya 2/18, Anjelo Emmanuel 2/6, Brigesh Jeganathen 2/17, Hans Fernando 2/11)

Special Awards :
Best Fielder – Rukshan Weerasinghe/Bens
Best Bowler – Chandana Jayasanka / Bens
Best Batsman – Angelo Emmanuel / Petes.
Man of the Final – Angelo Emmanuel / Petes.
The Rugby awards were presented by Rev. Fr. Trevor Martin, Rector, SPC; the Cricket Awards were presented by Shehan Samarasekera (Son of Ranjith Samarasekera, one of the Founder Members of the quad in 1963) and Lalith Perera (Bens captain 1972/73 and the Nephew of Ben Centenarian, Terence Perera)
The Basketball awards were presented by President Old Benedictine’s Sports Club, Malsiri Perera, Chairman of the Organizing committee, Kennedy Michael and President, Old Josephians Sport Club, Preethi Viraj Silva.

The 48th Saints quad was hosted by the Old Benedictine’s Sports Club in connection with the College Sesquicentennial (1865 – 2015). The next in 2016 will be hosted by the Old Josephians Sports Club.