Victorious Sri Lanka team after their Test series win over England in 2014

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced next summer’s international programme with England set to face a dual sub-continental challenge from Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Interest in next summer’s international programme has been heightened by England’s recent Ashes triumph and the home side will have an early sight of one half of next summer’s opposition when they take on Pakistan in the UAE this autumn.

Pakistan will be touring this country for the first time since 2010 and will contest four Investec Test Matches, five Royal London One-Day Internationals and a NatWest International T20 in the second half of the summer.

The international season will start with England seeking to avenge last year’s 1-0 Investec Test series defeat and 3-2 Royal London ODI series defeat against the Sri Lankans who are currently the world’s number one ranked side in T20 international cricket.

ECB Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison said: ”Both Pakistan and Sri Lanka will attract strong support from their own communities in this country which all adds up to another exciting summer of international action played in front of packed houses for all three formats of the game.”

The first part of the international season will have a strong northern flavour with Headingley and Durham both hosting Investec Test Matches against Sri Lanka before the three-match series concludes at Lord’s.

Trent Bridge, Edgbaston, Bristol, The Kia Oval and the Cardiff will then all stage Royal London ODIs against Sri Lanka before a NatWest International T20 ‘double-header’ – which will also feature England women taking on Pakistan women – rounds off the tour at The Ageas Bowl.


Sri Lanka’s tour of England 2016

Wed 4 May – Sri Lanka arrive

Sun 8-Tue 10 May – 3-day v Essex – Chelmsford

Fri 13-Sun 15 May – 3-day v Leicestershire – Grace Rd, Leicester

Thu 19-Mon 23 May – 1st Investec Test – Headingley

Fri 27-Tue 31 May – 2nd Investec Test – Durham

Thu 9-Mon 13 June – 3rd Investec Test – Lord’s

Thu 16 June – 1st ODI v Ireland – Ireland venue tbc

Sat 18 June – 2nd ODI v Ireland – Ireland venue tbc

Tue 21 June – 1st Royal London ODI D/N – Trent Bridge

Fri 24 June – 2nd Royal London ODI D/N – Edgbaston

Sun 26 June – 3rd Royal London ODI – Bristol

Wed 29 June – 4th Royal London ODI D/N – Kia Oval

Sat 2 July – 5th Royal London ODI – SWALEC, Cardiff

Tue 5 July – NatWest IT20 (f) – Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Wed 6 July – Sri Lanka depart