Winners with the chief guest and officials

Armand Flamer Caldera won the Gold division championship with an aggregate of 166 over two rounds in the national junior regional golf tournament worked off at the Nuwara Eliya golf course recently.

Over fifty juniors competed for top honours over two days of play under windy and cold conditions.

Armand showed his maturity by playing excellent golf over the two days to clinch the win by 3 shots. Buddika Jayalath was runner-up with 169 and 2nd runner-up went to Januka Dilshan with a total score of 172.

The Silver division was won by Vinod Weerasinghe and the Bronze division by Levon Niyerapola. Meanwhile Yannik Kumara was the champion in the most junior category the Copper division.

Fourteen year-old Vinod Weerasinghe played consistent golf to score 84, 82 over two days to clinch the Silver division and closely followed by Taniya Balasuriya with scores of 96, 72.

In the Bronze division the tussle was between Levon Niyerapola and T. Vikash. However former getting the better by 3 shots for scores of 103, 99. In the most junior category the Copper division Yannik Kumara showed his class with scores of 48, 51 over 9 holes. Closely followed by Shereen Balasuriya with scores of 52, 50 and Nirekh Tejwani 45, 57 for an aggregate score of 102.

The juniors from Kandy failed to master the course to take any wins. However they are likely to pose a challenge at the upcoming Regional Junior Open to be held in Kandy soon.

The championship was conducted by the Sri Lanka Golf Union with the support of Ceylon Agro Industries – promoters of Prima Sunrise Bread, Pro Golf (Pvt) Ltd. along with Nuwara Eliya Golf Club the host for the event.

The sponsor Prima Ceylon (Pvt) Ltd. promoters of Prima Sunrise Bread was represented by Dinesh Wimalachandra and awards were presented by Mithun Perera and Lal Wickramatunge on behalf of the Sri Lanka Golf Union. Special guest of honour was Dr. P. Senanayake committee member of the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club.

Gold Division; (U-18)
1. Armand Flamer Caldera166, 2. Buddika Jayalath 169, 3.Januka Dilshan172.
Silver Division; (U-15)
1. Vinod Weerasinghe 166, 2. Tania Balasuriya 168, 3. Kayla Perera 192.
Bronze Division (U-12)
1. Levon Niyerapola 202, 2. T. Vikash 205, 3. Harish Yadave 262.
Copper Division; (U-10)
1. Yannik Kumara 99, 2. Shereen Balasuriya 102, 3. Nirekj Tejwani 102.