The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has agreed to form a national government with the United National Party (UNP).

The decision was taken at a meeting of the SLFP’s Central Committee which was convened this morning headed by its chairman, President Maithripala Sirisena.

The SLFP has also appointed a six-member committee to formulate a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the UNP regarding the national government.

The six-member committee comprises Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga, Nimal Siripala De Silva, Susil Premajayanth, S.B. Dissanayake, Sarath Amunugama and Mahinda Samarasinghe.

Former President Chandrika Kumaratunga had attended today’s SLFP Central Committee meeting, which was her first in 10 years.