Isipathana College displayed why they are one of the best rugby playing schools for a long time in the country. This year they bagged three runners-up trophies and the Cup championships of the SLRFU under-20 Sevens tournament as well as the Zahira College Sevens tournament.

They achieved all these despite not having a ground of their own. Considering these facts, it is a remarkable achievement by the boys in green jersey.

They started off the season being the seven a side championship runners-up after a close game against St. Peter’s College where they went down fighting by 7 points to 5.
In the Inter-school rugby league tournament decider they lost to the unbeaten Royal College team by 21 points to 8.

After a closely fought out battle they were beaten by Science College 21–18, after they led at half time by 15 points to 8.

They lost only one match in the whole league championship, which was against the unbeaten league champions Royal College in the league decider.

In the league tournament they beat CWW Kannangara 73-6, Wesley 34-0, St’ Joseph 24–19, St’ Peters 20–17, Kingswood 33-22, Science 45–20 and Trinity 37–22.

Meanwhile, in the knock-out tournament they received a bye and straight away went into the semi-finals where they beat Trinity College by 37 points to 22.

Isipathana College under the dynamic captaincy of number 8 Omalka Gunarathne they won the Zahira College Seven a side championship.

They retained the Abdul Jabbar Trophy by beating their traditional-rivals Thurstan College by a smashing 105 points to nil victory.

The secret behind their success are the Principal, Staff, Head Coach Nilfer Ibrahim, Assistant coach Anuranga Walpola, kicking coach Dev Anand, Manager Gallage, Trainer Dayan, Head of Rugby committee Rajiv Rodrigo and his team and their die hard supporters including their old boys.

Isipathana squad 2015
Isipathana squad 2015