Speech Olympiad, the official intra-university speech contest of Moratuwa University, is organized by the Gavel Club of the university, an affiliate of Toastmasters International. Since its inception in 2005, the club has played a vital role within the university in enhancing the leadership, communication and professional skills of the undergraduates.

This year, Speech Olympiad IX for the MillenniumIT challenge trophy marked a record participation of undergraduates from all faculties and affiliated educational institutes of the university.

The event has become one of the most eagerly anticipated events in the university calendar, with an expected viewership of over 500 spectators for the Grand Finale. While uncovering the hidden talents of the budding speakers, it encourages them to polish their skills and to strive towards success. Many winners and finalists of ‘Inter University Speech Contest’, ‘All Island Best Speaker Contest’ and ‘CIMA Global Business Challenge’ have been proud discoveries of past Speech Olympiad contests.
Speech Olympiad IX- Voice it out
The ninth version of Speech Olympiad was launched with the preliminary round on July 30. Out of more than 50 registered competitors, the 12 best speakers were selected for the semifinals after presenting five-seven minute prepared speeches at the Preliminaries.  During the semifinals, they were given the challenge of making a one-two and a half minute impromptu speech in addition to the five-seven minute prepared speech.

On August 7, the semifinalists including Darshana Pubudu, Samadhi Poornima, Sapthika Jacob, Kasun Kodithuwakku, Sandaru Seneviratne, Samavath Mallawarachchi, Ama Kalpani, Thilina Madumal, Sandaru Suranjaya, Dulanjan Uduge, Rochelle Silva and KasunHarshana battled for a spot at the grand finale.

After a thorough evaluation of both the impromptu and the prepared speeches, the university’s five best public speakers were selected for the Grand Finale, by a panel of eminent judges who are actively engaged in the Toastmasters movement.

Sandaru Suranjaya (Electrical Engineering Department), Samadhi Poornima (Computer Science and Engineering Department), Sandaru Senevirathne (2014 Batch- Engineering Faculty), Samavath Mallawarachchi (Chemical and Process Engineering Department), and Ama Kalpani (2014 Batch- Engineering Faculty) will take the stage of Speech Olympiad IX grand finale on August 19. Keep the date reserved to witness an unprecedented display of oratory excellence from five outstanding speakers.

Follow us on as the speakers give voice to their thoughts because it’s time to ‘voice it out’.