Sri Lanka on the slide: Amit Mishra gets the wicket of Kaushal Silva for a duck in the second innings of the first Test at the Galle International Stadium.

Sa’adi Thawfeeq reporting from Galle

GALLE: Sri Lanka were deeply in trouble against the Indian spinners when they lost two wickets for just five runs in their second innings by the end of the second day of the first Test played at the Galle International Stadium.

Trailing by 192 runs, Sri Lanka lost openers Dimuth Karunaratne and Kaushal Silva without scoring in the first two overs to spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra who opened the bowling for India in the second innings.

Nightwatchman Dhammika Prasad (3) and Kumar Sangakkara (1) survived the remaining overs, but Sri Lanka faced an uphill task of saving the Test as they still trailed by 187 runs with eight wickets in hand.

It was a master ploy by Indian skipper Virat Kohli to open the bowling with his spinners who had done the damage to the Lankan batting in the first innings and the move paid off handsomely.

Earlier, Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan hit a century apiece and shared a third wicket stand of 227 to put India on a firm stronghold as they reached 375 in their first innings.

Following the departure of the two centurions, India slid to 302-6, but  wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha held the lower order together to score a maiden Test fifty of 98 balls with six fours to give India a handy first innings lead.

Off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal ended with his second five-for in an innings in his short Test career and had the support of Nuwan Pradeep who finished with three, but Rangana Herath who bowled with better control went wicketless for 67 runs in 33 overs.

Kaushal was wicketless for 17 overs conceding 91 runs before picking up his first. His five wickets came in his last 15.4 overs for 43 runs.




(128-2 continued)

L Rahul lbw b Prasad 7

S Dhawan b Pradeep 134

R Sharma lbw b Mathews 9

V Kohli lbw b Kaushal 103

A Rahane lbw b Kaushal 0

W Saha c Chandimal b Pradeep 60

R Ashwin b Pradeep 7

H Singh b Kaushal 14

 A Mishra b Kaushal 10

I Sharma not out 3

V Aaron c Mathews b Kaushal 4

Extras (b-1, lb-9, nb-11, w-3) 24

Total (all out, 117.4 overs) 375

Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Rahul), 2-28 (R Sharma), 3-255 (Kohli), 4-257 (Rahane), 5-294 (Dhawan), 6-302 (Ashwin), 7-330 (Singh), 8-344 (Mishra), 9-366 (Saha), 10-375 (Aaron).

Bowling: Prasad 22-4-54-1 (w1, nb1), Pradeep 26-2-98-3 (w2, nb1), Mathews 4-1-12-1, Kaushal 32.4-2-134-5 (nb9), Herath 33-4-67-0.


D Karunaratne b Ashwin 0

K Silva b Mishra 0

D Prasad not out 3

K Sangakkara not out 1

Extras (nb-1) 1

Total (2 wickets at close, 4 overs) 5

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Karunaratne), 2-1 (Silva).

Bowling: Ashwin 2-2-0-1, Mishra 1-0-1-1 (nb1), Harbhajan 1-0-4-0.