The Invitational School’s U-19 Team led by Avishka Fernando from St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa emerged champions of the MCA Tier “A” Cricket “Sixes” 2015, beating HNB in the final, at the MCA grounds on 2nd August.

The tournament was sponsored by QP Employment (Pvt) Ltd., for the 2nd successive year.

In the Tier “B” final on the MCA Matting, MAS Silueta “B” beat Stafford Motors.
The School’s Team on their way to the title eliminated the 2014 winners, MAS Unichela “A” and the 2014 runners-up, MAS Active.

The School’s U-19 team comprised Avishka Fernando (Captain from St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa) Wanidu de Silva (Richmond, Galle), Lakshina Rodrigo (St. Peter’s), Jehan Daniel (St. Joseph’s), S. Shanogeeth (Trinity), Sachitha Jayatillake (S. Thomas’) Sajith Sameera (Zahira) and Lahiru Samarakoon (Dharmaraja)

Match Results at a glance.

Tier “A” (Turf) The team mentioned first batted first.
Semi-finals: School’s U-19 – 76/4 (5.0) beat MAS Unichela “A” – 70/5 (5.0); MAS Unichela “B” – 84/2 (5.0) lost to HNB – 85/1 (4.5),
Final: School’s U-19 – 94/2 (5.0) (Avishka Fernando 31 rtd, Sachitha Jayatillake 36 rtd. Madhawa Warnapura 1/21, Saman Jayantha 1/21) beat HNB – 90/0 (5.0) (Saman Jayantha 32 rtd, Damitha Hunukumbara 24 n.o, Madhawa Warnapura 33 n.o.)
Special Awards: 43 years old Saman Jayantha from HNB carried away 4 of the five awards – Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Most sixes in the tournament (15) and Man of the Tournament; Avishka Fernando from the School’s U-19 Team won the Man of the Final award.

Tier “B” (Matting) First Team mentioned batted first
Semi-finals: SL Airlines 66/4 lost to Stafford Motors 68/1; MAS Silueta “B” 74/2 beat Nations Trust Bank 41/6.

Final: Stafford Motors – 61/3 (5.0) (Ishara Tennakoon 21 n.o. K. Tharindu 1/16, Angelo Emmanuel 2/4) lost to MAS Silueta “B” 62/5 (4.0) (Krishan Dinidu 47 n.o. J. Maduwantha 4/11, A. Singapulli 1/7)

Special Awards
Most Sixes in the Tournament – Nuwantha Perera (SriLankan Airlines 10); Best Bowler – Angelo Emmanuel (MAS Silueta “B”); Best Batsman – T.S. Ayurdeen (QP Employment), Man of the final – Krishan Dinidu (MAS Silueta “B”); Man of the Tournament – Sanjaya Gangodawila (Stafford Motor’s).

The concept of entering a School’s U-19 team to the Tier “A” came from the MCA incumbent President, former Test wicket keeper/batsman Gemini Wickramasinghe.
Wickramasinghe who is presently highly involved with the Sri Lanka Cricket U-19 squad is planning to get a School’s U-19 team in the forth coming MCA Premier League, starting late September 2015. He has already got the blessings of the SLSCA for his worthy exercise of taking School’s Cricket to greater heights by giving them adequate exposure, which they lack at the moment. Adhil Mohamed, Director QP Employment was the Chief Guest at the awards presentation ceremony. (LW)