Player of the tournament Kandy centre Richard Darmapala in action

Former Science College captain and centre Richard Dharmapala scored a sensational try off a 40 metre dash helped Kandy SC beat Havelock SC and regain the SLRFU inter-club rugby Sevens title after five years at the Racecourse grounds, Reid Avenue on 2nd August.

Dharmapala also had a hand in scrum half Nigel Ratwatte scoring a try and saved the day for Kandy SC when he made a try saving tackle on Havies centre Danushka Ranjan in the final minutes of play when he was on his way to score a certain try following a superb 70-metre dash.

In the final minute of play Havies had a golden opportunity to equalise when their fly half, former Isipathanian, Hirantha Perera put a chip where he only had to just collect the loose ball and touch down without a challenge, but to the utter dismay of all Havies players and supporters, he knocked on.

Kandy SC beat defending champions Havelock’s by 17 points to 10 in the Cup championship after trailing 10 – 7 at half time .Kandy who stormed into the final with victories against Police ‘B’ 50-0 and Navy ‘A’ 28-0 on the first day and then beat a hapless Army ‘ B’ 70-0 in the quarter-finals. They were given a torrid time by CR & FC in the semi-finals before eventually overcoming them 19-7 through a last minute try by national skipper and fly half Fazil Marija who went through the entire CR and FC defence to score under the post. Incidentally till the final three minutes of the game the scores were deadlock at 7-all and the try by CR and FC was the first by any team against Kandy.

Havelock’s ‘A’ with victories against Peterson 66-0 and Army ‘B’ 40-0 in the Group stages came into the quarter-finals with all guns blazing to beat a much improved Navy ‘A’ side 26-12 and then thrashed Police ‘A’ 33-0 in the semis to enter the finals. Incidentally it was surprising to see former Navy SC and Army SC captain Rohitha Rajapaksa turning out for Havelocks in this tournament.

In the Plate finals the young CR and FC side ran out worthy winners when they thrashed Police ‘A’ 33-0.

For CR and FC, forward Jason Dissanayake, who had a sensational game along with speedy winger Kavindu Perera, scored two tries a piece while scrum half Dilan Zoysa scored the other try. Unsung hero for CR and FC was the former Peterite skipper Bhanuka Nanayakkara who had an outstanding game with some bone crunching tackles against the opposition to go along with his dazzling runs along the field. Former captain of the unbeaten Dharmaraja College and CR and FC young centre Rochana Hettiarachchi was adjudged as the up and coming player of the tournament.

Navy ‘A’ captained by Dinusha Chathuranga won the Bowl Championship beating Army ‘A’ by 29 points to 7 while Police ‘B’ won the Shield Championship when they edged out Havelocks ‘B’ by 17 points to 15.