The National Tennis Championships will be of significance as the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) celebrates their 100th anniversary this year.

The nationals will kick off with the junior event on 7th August through to 23rd August after that the Open and Wheelchair Tennis events will be worked off from 14th to 23rd August at the SLTA courts Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha.

Bharti Airtel, a leading global telecommunications company announced its sponsorship of the 100th Tennis National Championships, their fourth consecutive year.

Organizers expect over 150 entries for the Open Nationals while they expect over 800 entries for the Junior Nationals.

The Open events are for men and women singles, doubles and mixed doubles while the Juniors will enter for the boys and girls singles and doubles from the age groups of 10 to 18 years.
Entries for the Open Nationals close on 6th August and the draw will be held on 11th August.

The official ball for the tournament will be Dunlop Elite.