A Schools under-19 team will be seen in action for the first time at the MCA Annual Open Six-a-side cricket tournament to be held on 1st and 2nd August.

Ten teams, including the School’s team will play in the Tier “A” (Turf) segment and 46 teams will play in the Tier “B” segment (matting).

The tournament will be simultaneously conducted in five venues namely, MCA, Thurstan, Wesley, D.S. Senanayake and St. Benedict’s on the first day commencing 8.30 am. The tournament will be continued on 2nd August at MCA, Thurstan and Wesley, commencing 9 am.

The draw for groupings was held on 22nd July at the MCA Pavilion Lounge, with the participation of the captains.

Tier “A” (turf): 10 teams in 3 groups
Group “A” (3): MAS Unichela “A” (2014 winner), Sampath Bank “A” and MAS Silueta “A”.
Group “B” (4): HNB, Singer Sri Lanka “A”, LB Finance “A” and School’s U-19 Team.
Group “C” (3): MAS Active (2014 runners-up), MAS Unichela “B” and Sampath Bank “B”.
Tier “B” (Matting): 46 teams in 15 groups
Group “A”: Colombo Dockyard (2014 winner), Dialog “B” & DSI.
Group “B”: Oral Corporation, People’s Leasing & Finance PLC & UB Finance “B”.
Group “C”: David Pieris Motor Co., Heshan Flexe Packaging “B” & JL Morison.
Group “D”: Heshan Flexe Packaging “A”, UB Finance “A” & Union Assurance PLC.
Group “E”: Airport & Aviation Services, Kanrich Finance & Std. Chartered “B”.
Group “F”: Expolanka Group “B”, Nations Trust Bank & Total Amber “A”.
Group “G”: Amana Takaful Insurance, Astron Lanka & Citizens Devp. Business.
Group “H”: Hirdaramani Group, MAS Silueta “B” & Regnis Lanka.
Group “I”: Dialog Axiata “A”, Janashakthi Insurance & QP Employment.
Group “J”: Mobitel, Singer SL “B” & SriLankan Airlines.
Group “K”: Palliyaguruge Group, Stafford Motors “A” & Technomedics.
Group “L”: Assetline Leasing, Gestetner & Merchant Bank Finance.
Group “M”: A. Baur & Co., Stafford Motor’s “B” & Unilever.
Group “N”: Ceyline Holdings, Std. Chartered “A” & Total Amber “B”.
Group “O”: Expolanka “A”, HSBC, LB Finance “B” (2014 runners-up) & Trellerborg Lanka.
The tournament is sponsored by QP Employment for the 2nd year and apart from the Winners & Runners-up trophies and Cash Awards, they will be offering five Special Awards to the Best Batsman, Best Bowler, Hitter of the most sixes in the tournament, Man of the Final and Man of the Tournament.

At the end of the round –robin stage eight teams will advance to the Tier “A” quarter-finals and 16 teams will advance to the Tier “B” pre-quarter finals.

The concept of entering a School’s U-19 team to the tournament came from the MCA incumbent President, former Test wicket keeper /batsman, Gemini Wickramasinghe.