The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) has suspended the party membership of five members.

Accordingly, the SLFP membership of Rajitha Senaratne, Arjuna Ranatunga, M.K.D.S Gunawardene, S.B Navinna and Hirunika Premchandra have been suspended, the President’s Media stated. President Maithripala Sirisena, in his capacity as the chairman of the SLFP, has suspended the five.

The decision to suspend the membership came after the five chose to contest the upcoming General Election from the United National Party (UNP) under the banner of the United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG).