Provincial Councils and Regional Development Minister, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon resigned from his portfolio on Friday. According to the Minister, the main reason for his decision was Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Chairman and President Maithripala Sirisena’s decision not to summon the party Central Committee. According to the Minister, requests were made to summon the committee in order to work towards securing the win for the party in the upcoming general election.

Speaking to The Nation, the Minister also said the recent speech of President Maithripala Sirisena, too, influenced his decision to resign. “I have not engaged in politics for personal gain,” he said, adding that this was done in the party’s best interest. According to him, he believes his fellow colleagues who hold similar sentiments will too follow his example.

Meanwhile, three SLFPers; Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Sudarshanie Fernandupulle and Eric Weerawardana resigned from their deputy ministerial posts on July 16. However, Mahinda Amaraweera who made public announcements of his resignation soon, is now waiting for a meeting of the Central Committee to inform and resign.