Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Eric Weerawardena have resigned from their deputy ministerial portfolios.

The three, who are all members of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), have reportedly cited disappointment regarding several statements made by President Maithripala Sirisena during his speech on Tuesday as the reason behind their decision to resign.