Former United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) MPs Duminda Silva, Sajin de Vass Gunawardena, Mervyn Silva and Sarana Gunawardena will not be given nominations from the UPFA to contest the upcoming General Election.

UPFA General Secretary Susil Premajayantha confirmed this to the media a short while ago at the Colombo District Secretariat after handing over UPFA nomination papers.

However, Sajin de Vass Gunawardena has already announced that he would contest the election as an independent from Galle, while Duminda Silva is also expected to contest from the Colombo District as an independent.