Dheema Ali (left) and Thenuka Dinujaya with the trophies they won

Dheema Ali of Royal Institute and Thenuka Dinujaya of Kegalu Vidyalaya were adjudged as the most outstanding players among girls and boys respectively at the 11th All Island Tables Tennis Tournament held at S. Thomas’ Indoor Stadium Mt. Lavinia on 27th and 28th June.

This tournament organized by Tibhar Sports Club attracted about 600 players from around the country.

Dheema Ali attracted the attention of everyone as this seven year old displayed vast talent to win the under-10 and 12 singles events for girls while finished as runner-up in the under-8 category.

The most stylish players, girls and boys were won by Nethmi Hettiarachchi and Ravishitha Fernando respectively.

The chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony was Rajeeva Wijetunga the new president of the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka.

Guests of honour were Dammika Wijesundara (Marketing Manager – Singer Sri Lanka) and Dilshan Seneviratne (Head- Transaction Banking of Citi Bank)

Results: (Girls)
U-8 Champion: Lesanya Sethumlee (Dharmasoka), Runner-Up: P Dheema Ali (Royal Institute)
U-10 Champion: Dheema Ali (Royal Institute), Runner-Up: Lesanya Sethumlee (Dharmasoka)
U-12 Champion: Dheema Ali (Royal Institute), Runner-up: Navindi Seneviratne (Kegalu Balika)
U-15 Champion: Tharindi Thamasha (Viharamahadevi/K), Runner-Up: Hiranya Kalhari (Southland/G)
U-18 Champion: Raveesha Amarasinghe (Prajapathi B), Runner-Up: Chehana Ravindi (Dharmasoka)
U-21 Champion: Maneesha Shalindie (Karandeniya MV), Runner-up: Nilushi Pushpakumari (Karandeniya MV)
Novices Women: Champion: Anupama Ariyaratne (Uni/Ruhuna), Runner-up: Nethmi Hettiarachchi (Holy Cross)
Intermediate: Women; Champion: Dilini Perera (Visakha), Runner-Up: Nadithi Rehansa (Prajapathi BV)
U-12 Doubles: Champions: Pinidi Jayasinghe and Tharindi Thamasha, Runners-Up: Inuli Gunasekara and Chathumi Yuveena
U-18 Doubles; Champions: Yahani Mendis and Thamadi Mendis (GHS, Mt.), Runners-Up: Dilini Perera and Anushka de Silva
U-8 Champion: Sithum Fernando (St Agnes/B), Runners-Up: Dineth Chamudith (Ananda)
U-10 Champion: Thisum Gamage (Ananda), Runner-Up: Rawishitha Fernando (St Mary C/Kegalle)
U-12 Champion: Chanupa Gunasena (Ananda), Runner-Up: Rawishitha Fernando (St Mary C/Kegalle)
U-15 Champion: Kavindu Suranga (Royal), Runner-Up: Ashvida Nikil (Dharmaraja/K)
U-18 Champion: Lochana Wickramathilaka (S. Thomas/Mt), Runner-Up: Chamidu Bandara (Trinity)
U-21 Champion: Manthila Sahan (Lyceum), Runner-Up: Chamidu Bandara (Trinity)
Novices Men: Champion; Chanuka Sri Bandara (St Mary C/Kegalle), Runner-Up: Anupa Athauda (Vidyartha)
Intermediate Men: Champion: Thenuka Dinujaya (Kegalu V), Runner-Up: Senura Silva (Ananda)
U-12 Doubles: Champion: Oshan Silva and Sithum Nilanga (CSI), Runners-Up: Kawsily Jayasumana and Sahiru Munasinghe
U-18 Doubles: Champion: Harshana Karadawela and Shakila Karunaratne (Vidyartha), Runners-Up: Lakshika Shehan and Manthila Sahan; (Dharmaloka/Kelaniya)