Dharmasiri Madugalle, the oldest living Kandy Sports Club ruggerite and captain will be felicitated by the new committee. He was a fine athlete and led the Trinitians in 1952. He first played rugby for his school in the early 1950’s and led the school team in 1953. Under his leadership Trinity won the Bradby Shield 13-0 and 3-0. He was a good athlete and had the privilege of leading both the rugger and the athletic teams in 1952 and 1953.
His Bradby wining team comprised players like Mahinda Ratwatte, Quintin Israel, C.S. Schockman, W.K. Boteju, B.G. Jacob, H.F. Ratwatte, R.M. Aluwihare, Maurice Perera, A.H. Bandaranayake, C.B. Nickatenne, C.V. Unamboowe, L.L. Vithaane, A.M.E. Adhihetty and B.A. Nonis.

He was a fine wing-three-quarter and played for Kandy SC as a schoolboy in 1953 and went on till 1961. He was in the Kandy SC’s first cup final team in 1954 and also in the following year 1955. He was a member of the Sri Lanka team from 1955 to 1965. In 1964 he led Kandy SC and in 1966 he led the Up-Country.

During the 1960’s there was a great rugby promoter known as Noel Gratiaen, who wanted the authorities who were handling the game to come forward to organize a Ceylonese team to play in the All India tournament. At that time CH & FC were playing in the All-India Tournament, and also there was a European team. So, the first Ceylonese team who took part in the All Indian tournament had players like Dharmasiri Madugalle, Percy Madugalle Willie Ratnavale, Fred Kellar, Percy Perera, Clair Roeloff, Archibald Pereira, Ray de Zilva, and Percy de Zilva

He became the first Kandy SC captain to hold the President and Patron’s posts; he was the Patron of the club for years and until the last AGM few days back.