PALLEKELE: Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets to win the third and final Test and win the three-Test series 2-1 at the Pallekele International Stadium.

Pakistan finished on 380 for three wickets with Younis Khan being unbeaten on 171 and Misbah-ul-Haq on 59 not out.

The target of 377 was Pakistan’s highest successful run chase in their history, the previous one being 315-9 against Australia at Karachi in 1994 when they won by one wicket.

Pakistan last won a Test series in Sri Lanka in 2006.

Scores: Sri Lanka 278 and 313;

Pakistan 215 and 380-3 (Younis Khan 171 not out, Misbah-ul-Haq 59 not out).