The skipper of the champion NIBM Wildcats team receives the Cup trophy from Erwin Haaze the CEO of SAGT as Tournament Director Dilroy Fernando looks on

The Sri Lanka Inter University Flag Football Tournament organized by EFLI- Sri Lanka and sponsored by the South Asia Gateway Terminals concluded last Sunday at the CR and FC ground Longdon Place with the NIBM Wildcats beating Kotalawela Defence Academy in the championship final.

An enthusiastic crowd witnessed the proceedings and even a heavy downpour before the final was no deterrent to spectator or player who enjoyed the excitement of the first ever University Flag Football tournament introduced in Sri Lanka this year.

An exhibition game which was played prior to the Cup final was a hit with Colombo Lions players like Andrew Siriwardena, and Sri Lanka rugby star Shenal Dias making some excellent runs against the experienced US Embassy invitation team.

The Cup final between NIBM Wildcats and Kotalawela Defence University Riffles dished out some excellent throwing and running down the flank.

The match went into extra time with the scores deadlocked at 13-13 at full time. In the second minute of the three minutes of extra time, NIBM touched down to seal a 19-13 victory.

The winners of each segment:
Cup Champions: NIBM Wildcats (Trophy presented by Erwin Haaze CEO of South Asia Gateway Terminals

Plate Champions: IIT Dragons (Trophy presented by Dilroy Fernando – Director EFLI – Sri Lanka)

Bowl Champions: Jaffna Warriors (Trophy presented by Dhashma Karunaratne – Commercial & Marketing Manager, SAGT)

Shield Champions: IIT Panthers (Trophy presented by Adam Pieasants of the US Embassy)